1/1/11

whoa. That date just blew my mind. I would post this at exactly 11:11PM on 1/1/11, but I don’t think I qualify for that kind of awesomeness.

(this is the part where someone comments, “What, no! Of course you are just that amazing!”)

Anyways.

I reached under my pillow in the middle of the night and felt…cash. $27.32, to be exact. I was ecstatic thinking that the Tooth Fairy had finally found my house, rewarding my patience with all that baby teeth money plus 15% interest, but then I realized that it was my youngest brother’s way of paying me back for Mom’s birthday present without telling me. Thanks little man.

I was woken up this morning by my two brothers shouting, “It’s Mom’s birthday! We’re going to give her her present now! Wake up!” And here I thought you only got woken up with shouts of gifts on your own birthday. Anyways, we charged into Mom’s room (yes, her birthday is on New Year’s. It makes birthday shopping for her extra stressful because it’s only eight days after we typically find her Christmas present.) and presented her with a brand-new Cruz e-reader, unwrapped and all. This year we all chipped in and got her something big (hence the tooth fairy money) instead of the normal scarves and necklaces we always get her. Just a little way of saying WE LOVE YOU MOMMY. :)

Mom suggested we go to a dimsum house for brunch. It’s moments like these I’m really glad that Mom and I have the same taste in food. We drove all the way out to Morrisville for some mindblowing, tastebud-wowing goodness. 肠粉,皮蛋瘦肉粥,凤爪, 蛋挞,两面黄, everything amazing. I’d totally move to HK just for the dimsum errryyday, but now I don’t need to do that with a dimsum house just 45 minutes away! Mom suggested making this a New Year’s tradition, which I wholeheartedly support. I am all about traditions, after all. And dimsum.

On the way to the dimsum place though, we witnessed something quite scary. We had just pulled onto the highway when a Chrysler in front of us jumped the railing and crashed into a brick wall along the road. And it crashed HARD -punched a hole right through the brick. We pulled over and I dialed 911 for the first time in my whole life. (I hung up when I realized that there was a whole line of cars pulled over and people frantically dialing their phones too. That whole line made for a sort of weird connection between strangers -shared feelings of adrenaline and concern.)  We ran over to the car, along with a bunch of other worried strangers, and the driver, who was the only person in the vehicle, climbed out with the help of some bystanders. He seemed like he was in shock and a little banged up but otherwise okay, thank God. I think he had passed out behind the wheel or something. Even though no one was seriously injured, it was still a scary thing to witness and made me extra glad that I had said a little prayer before we got on the road that morning. I think sometimes I get pretty numb and just go through life lazily grateful for God’s protection, only passively trusting Him. This definitely reminded me how much God takes care of us -I mean that car was right in front of us. He totally could’ve bounced off the railing or something and knocked into our van. God’s good.

The rest of the day was less exciting, spent reading (C.S. Lewis’ Out of the Silent Planet), crocheting while listening to an absurd amount of Strauss on TV, and eating the ridiculous amount of pizza rolls J decided to warm up for dinner. Oh, and J and the little man decided to scare the living daylights out of me by having J climb the ladder (left there after house painting) by my second-story window and pressing his face against the glass. I had just gotten to the part in Out of the Silent Planet where the main character has landed on a strange world, trying to take in all the bizarre scenery, when this face appeared right in front of me. Then Dad yelled at me to stop screaming because he was on the phone. This is gonna be an exciting 2011, I can tell.

Leave a Reply

