Lettin It Go

“I’ve been holding on so tight
Look at these knuckles
They’ve gone white
I’m fighting for who I wanna be
I’m just trying to find security

But You say let it go, You say let it go
You say life is waiting for the one’s who lose control
You say you will be, everything I need
You said if I lose my life it’s then I’ll find my soul
You say let it go.

Well it’s hard enough to hear
Harder still, to move beyond this fear
We know there’s nothing I can bring,
So tell me what do you want from me?

But You say let it go, You say let it go
You say life is waiting for the one’s who lose control
You say You will be, everything I need
You said if I lose my life it’s then I’ll find my soul
You say let it go, You say let it go.”

-from Tenth Avenue North’s “Let it Go”

Matthew 16:24-26:  “Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. 25 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. 26For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?”

God’s pretty ironic, isn’t He? So counter-intuitive. Funny how God works. And pretty amazing. We really don’t have Life at all without Him, but when we hand over the reins and let Him take over our desires and wishes and plans -our lives, He becomes our Life. And that’s when life really becomes worth living.

P.S. I’ve been finding that letting God take over frees me up to figure out who I really am in Him, because I’m no longer driven by other people’s opinions or my own expectations of myself. And oddly enough this affected my choice of paper topics. I’m currently tossing around ideas for a research paper on Chinese immigration in London, and a paper on Chinese unicorns. (Yeah, you read that right. Unicorns. It will be my second academic assignment involving such mythical creatures this semester, haha.) They both touch on things that I’m discovering are a pretty big part of well, me, though they’re often things I’m a bit embarrassed to admit to at times: a heart for/interest in Chinese people and culture, and a very, very childlike imagination. hehe.

2 thoughts on “Lettin It Go

  1. Mom says:

    Where is the “like” button?

  2. Danny says:

    Hi Christine! Awesome post… God is good! Never be ashamed of having a childlike imagination, it is a gift. One that God has used greatly in others (C. S. Lewis comes to mind), and one that He can use greatly in you if you let him.

    P.S. Just out of curiosity, what was/were the other mythical creature(s) that you wrote a paper about?

Leave a Reply

