Juliaaaaa

So I was looking through some of my old posts and a good deal of them involve making fun of Julia. And while most of the time she brings it upon herself, she takes it awfully well. So I’m devoting a post to dearest Jules the twob.

I see Julia just about every day. She’s always there. (There for me, of course. And…she’s just always there. Mel calls her a permanent fixture of our apartment.) This past week I went over 48 hours without seeing her due to exams and I went into withdrawal. I feel like I have to discuss my life with her (and oh boy, do I. haha). And she never acts like she gets tired of hearing all of my problems and successes and happy stories and frustrating moments. She can ramble but dude can she also listen. Especially lately with certain situations she’s gotten her ear talked off, but she’ll always listen for as long as I need to talk. Even when she has an exam the next day. (This is also a reason why it’s rather difficult to study with her. I was in Clemons with her for thirteen hours yesterday and we kept getting distracted…) We are so up-to-date on each other’s lives that once, during CCF prayer meeting, we ended up being prayer partners and instead of sharing our own high/low points of the week we shared each other’s. hehe. I feel comfortable telling her just about anything, and she doesn’t try to hide stuff from me. I am so blessed to have such a gal to pour my heart out to.

Dave mentioned to me the other day how Julia has absolutely no deception in her eyes when we’re playing basketball and she’s trying to fake her defenders out (hahaha…). It’s written all over face where she’s headed and she locks in on that spot until she gets there. While it makes for some steals/intercepted passes for the other team, that’s one thing I love about her. She can’t help but be sincere and genuine and open. She doesn’t hide her reactions to things (which is probably why everyone teases her so much) even if she’s embarrassed. Jules is one of the most honest, straightforward people I know. I don’t think she’s capable of lying. Yeah I’m pretty sure about that, because I’ve seen her play Mafia. ;)…there are no pretenses with this girl. She makes it so easy to share just about anything with her because she’s so, well, real.

Another thing that’s awesome about Jules is that she’s a fighter. It probably doesn’t seem like that, because most of the time she just sits there looking at you desperately, begging for help with her big sad puppy-dog eyes, but Jules is an amazing example of what it means to be persistent. From the little things like asking Dave over and over and over if he’ll let her drive his car to editing her English papers to death, she just doesn’t give up. She’s the kind of person who, when she sees a problem or struggle, glares at it full-force and crushes it in prayer.  She’s so honest about what she struggles with and I’ve seen her take things to the Lord over and over, never giving up. She understands very well the meaning of spiritual battle. I’ve counseled friends with her before and she just sits there listening, praying, praying, and then bursts out with the you-need-to-hear-this-now gospel truth. She’s willing to keep discussing and praying the same things with me repeatedly, and she never shrinks back from telling me the truth. Relentless.

(If only she was like that in basketball when Mel tries to steal the ball from her. Hehe.)

Well. I have a lot more I could write, except I need to go to bed and I don’t want to compliment her too much lest it start going to her head. ;) But yeah. I love you Jules. [Wear more color.] Thanks for being an amazing sister.

One thought on “Juliaaaaa

  1. Julia says:

    krysteeeeeeene!!!!
    i’m glad that i have you as a sister too!!!
    and yes, this is starting to get to my head.
    i wuv you!

Leave a Reply

